Citizen Government Review Committee Minutes January 29, 2025

Cyrus K. Holliday Building, First Floor Conference Room, Topeka, Kansas, January 29, 2025. City of Topeka Mayor Micheal A. Padilla called the Committee meeting to order at 11:00 A.M. with the following Committee Members present: Brian Broxterman, Shampayne Lloyd, Constance (Connie) Jacobson, Tamara Martin, Jim Kaup and Zachary Surritt (*alternate*) -6.

Mayor Padilla provided opening comments and thanked Committee members for serving.

Each Committee member expressed their appreciation for being selected to serve on the Committee and provided a brief introduction highlighting their personal and professional backgrounds.

Mayor Padilla opened the floor for nominations to ELECT a Committee Chair.

Jim Kaup nominated himself.

Shampayne Lloyd nominated Jim Kaup.

Upon hearing no more nominations, Mayor Padilla announced nominations were closed.

Mayor Padilla asked all those in favor of electing Jim Kaup as the Committee Chair to indicate so by verbally saying "yea" and those opposing to indicate so verbally by saying "no." The motion carried unanimously on voice vote. (5-0-0)

Chair Kaup requested they elect a Committee Vice Chair.

Upon hearing no objections, Mayor Padilla opened the floor for nominations to Elect a Vice Chair.

Chair Kaup nominated Connie Jacobson.

Connie Jacobson accepted the nomination.

Upon hearing no more nominations, Mayor Padilla announced nominations were closed.

Mayor Padilla asked all those in favor of electing Connie Jacobson as the Committee Vice Chair to indicate so by verbally saying "yea" and those opposing to indicate so verbally by saying "no." The motion carried unanimously on voice vote. (5-0-0)

AN OVERVIEW of the current Form of Government was provided by Amanda Stanley, City Attorney. She highlighted the history of the city of Topeka and how the current Form of Government came to be, the composition of the Governing Body, the powers and duties of the City Council, Mayor and City Manager. AN OVERVIEW of Committee Guidelines and duties was provided by Amanda Stanley, City Attorney. She reported no specific additional requirements were given by the Governing Body to the Committee for the Committee process; however, Pursuant to Topeka Municipal Code Chapter 2.210 at least one public hearing must be held, all meetings must be open to the public, and final recommendations must be made within six months of appointment (June 2025), and the Committee report format should include, but not be limited to, areas of concern addressed, general findings relative thereto, and specific recommendations for alleviating concerns or problems.

Chair Kaup inquired on the desire of the Committee to discuss public input parameters. He requested a copy of the 2014 Citizens Governing Review Committee Report be distributed to the Committee, and suggested Jim Reardon, 2014 Committee Chair, be invited to a future Committee meeting to provide input on the process.

Connie Jacobson suggested they invite current City Councilmembers and the Mayor to provide input on the subject matter.

Chair Kaup suggested they also invite former City Councilmembers and City Managers to include former City Manager Richard Nienstedt, former Chief Administrative Officer Allan Morris as well as Hannes Zacharias, Professor of Practice, University of Kansas School of Public Affairs & Administration, who also has extensive experience in administering government at the local level.

Shampagne Lloyd concurred they need to gather input from experts; however, she expressed the importance of the Committee focusing on the present and making recommendations accordingly.

Brian Broxterman stated he concurs with Shampagne Lloyd. He spoke in support of inviting two experts along with Mayor Padilla, current Governing Body members and Department Directors to provide input.

It was the consensus of the Committee, that Chair Kaup invite Jim Reardon and Hannes Zacharias to a future Committee meeting to provide input.

Chair Kaup asked the Committee to SET MEETING TIMES, inquired on the public input procedure and if Committee information would be available on the City's website.

Chair Kaup inquired on using the Topeka Speaks online platform also used by the Topeka Planning Commission.

Zachary Surritt spoke in support of utilizing the same public input process as the Governing Body. The majority of Committee members concurred.

Discussion ensued on appropriate meeting dates, times and location. It was the consensus of the Committee to hold meetings in the Cyrus K. Holliday Building, First Floor Conference Room, 620 SE Madison Street, Topeka, Kansas, as followings in the months of February and March:

- Wednesday, February 5, 2025 from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
- Wednesday, February 19, 2025 from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
- Wednesday, March 5, 2025 from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
- Wednesday, March 26, 2025 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Connie Jacobson moved to approve the meeting scheduled as discussed by the Committee. The motion seconded by Brain Broxterman carried unanimously on voice vote. (5-0-0)

Chair Kaup inquired on rules of order for the Committee.

City Attorney Stanley stated the City's Legal Staff would prepare generalized Rules of Order for Committees to review at the February 5, 2025, meeting.

Chair Kaup confirmed he would invite Jim Reardon and Hannes Zacharias to the February 5, 2025, meeting; however, he would suggest the Committee have a backup plan to fill the agenda.

City Attorney Stanley stated she would offer an open invite to the Governing Body for the February 19, 2025, meeting. She suggested allowing Staff the flexibility to schedule speakers as their schedules allow.

Zachary Surritt requested input from Mayor Padilla.

Chair Kaup suggested inviting the Shawnee County Commission to a future meeting.

Brain Broxterman stated he believes they need to provide ample time for the citizens of Topeka and City leaders to provide input and wait to consult the Shawnee County Commission until later in the process. The majority of Committee members concurred.

No further business appearing, the meeting was adjourned at 12:30 p.m.

Brenda Younger, M.M.C. City Clerk